A year of hits and misses

I started this blog about a year back when I left full time employment. Initially I thought of writing about family, friends and health. I explained in my first post why I chose this theme – basically those are life’s treasures.

” When we count our many blessings,
It isn’t hard to see
That life’s most valued treasures
Are the treasures that are free.
For it isn’t what we own or buy
That signifies our wealth.

It’s the special gifts that have no price
Our family, friends and health”.

Words by an unknown author.

However, I soon realized that it was not possible to write about family and friends without revealing intimate details. So I had to change course. About health, it was more about keeping myself healthy and avoid all the illnesses that plague us due to inactivity. I am happy to share that this aspect of my life has been very consistent. My wife and I walk almost every day – about 6 km daily – with an average of more than 10,000 steps a day and averaging about 160 to 180 km a month. My record from Jan 2016 shows we have walked about 820 km so far this year.

I also commented on politics; this was an eye opener for me; most Singaporeans are apathetic to politics; it is something that happens once in 5 years! Voting is just one aspect of politics – I wanted to tell people that it is about life choices we make. I must say I have failed convincing people ! So I have politics as a topic I share on Facebook; this is restricted to a new group I created.

LIFE has been good; I have travelled a bit; my recent trip to Tokyo was a real eye opener. Will be travelling some more next month – this time with family for a week’s holiday to Australia.

This blog has never been intended to be commercial; I know can get more hits and readers. But I have no interest in that; this is just for a small group of friends.

Thank you for being my friend.

Wishing you a great week.

LIFE begins @ 58 !

www.ajithmankal.wordpress.com