Re-starting blog

I am back and refreshed after a good three week break. I met many friends, shared many meals, renewed old friendships, discovered new places and have never felt better.

As you know, I left full time employment in late January even though the official end date was 1 Mar. I have had six months to reflect on the various events in my life – including National Service, the various jobs I held, the many people I met, the skills I learned, the time I wasted, the money I made and lost, my family, the investments which paid off, the costly mistakes I made, my health and finally my decision to stop working after 31 years.

I realize I have had my share of ups and downs.  That’s what LIFE is about – how we react to events  in our lives, the decisions we make, the friends who stayed with us,  our hopes and aspirations,  ……………………..

Today I want to share with you the story of a friendship that has lasted more than 60 years. I say more than 60 because I don’t have all the details.  All I know is that this very special uncle and my father first met around 1955 or even before. One of my priorities now is to find out as much as I can about this before it is too late.

My father died about 42 years back but this uncle has been a great source of support and strength for our family. He was there to cremate my father, he was there when I got engaged, when I got married, and the  times we met he shared stories of the great friendship they had. He told me about life in Singapore in the fifties, how my father stayed on in Singapore, how he continued  to work in the  Old Malaya and how the decisions they made had an impact on their families and lives. He is a very patient person and I could learn a lot more about my father.  I recently attended his 88th birthday celebrations.  All I can wish for is many many more years of good health for him.

I am sure many of you have such enduring friendships. Do renew your links and cherish the memories.